The Volunteer Activist Awards Luncheon honored activists John Besh, Karen Saunders DeBlieux, L. E. Eagan Jr., Diane Hollis, Jonathan Kernion, Natasia T. Kissinger, Doris D. Rappold, Darlene Robert, Pat Shane and Steve Stumpf, as well as Hall of Fame Activist Harilyn V. Dittmann.

A Patron Party honoring the 10 Volunteer Activists and Hall of Fame Activist proceeded the luncheon with cocktails and hors d’oeuvres.

Cindy Wooderson opened the main program by welcoming guests and thanking the Luncheon Chairs Nancy Colomb and Erin Shea-Stanhke, and the committee for their hard work and dedication to the guild. The Most Reverend Gregory Aymond delivered the invocation, and Irma Thomas performed the national anthem. Thomas Capella served as emcee. Closing remarks were delivered by Sister Marjorie Hebert, President and CEO of Catholic Charities.

Mystics provided entertainment during the luncheon. Recognition was given to the Police Department for their loyalty and dedication to the New Orleans community. A Fashion Show, chaired by Joan Ingram, featured models wearing clothes by Dillard’s as dessert was served. Models included Simone Bruni-Demo Diva; New Orleans artist James Michalopoulos, Mardi Gras maven Arthur Hardy; Father Kurt Young – Director of Vocations for the Archdiocese of New Orleans; Liz Reyes-WVUE Anchor and Reporter; Jefferson Parish Councilwomen Jennifer Van Vrancken; chef Greg Reggion; Darlene Costanza with Crimestoppers and U.S. Marshall Genny Mae.

Suzette Herpich chaired the silent auction, which included a variety of hotel accommodations, restaurant gift cards, VIP Jazz Festival Package, artwork, jewelry and sports paraphernalia.


What: “Volunteer Activist Awards Luncheon,” benefiting St. Elizabeth’s Guild
When: Friday, September 23
Where: Sheraton New Orleans Hotel