Rickie and Gordon Nutik will be honored with the L’Chayim Award at Touro Synagogue on April 3. This award is given to a couple or individual who have made a significant contribution to the synagogue through their years of membership.

This Carnival season, the past Queens of Achaeans held a luncheon at Bacco, with Sheldon Thompson Schmidt, Margaret Menge Winston and Marie Favrot McClellan (front row) and Elizabeth Ansley Seaver, Charlotte Marshall Williamson, Michele Favrot Murphy and Kathryn Carrere Smallpage.

The Old Metairie Road Business Association donated $33,000 to schools along the Old Metairie Road corridor (Ella Dolhonde Elementary School, the Vernon C. and Gilda Haynes Middle School and Metairie Grammar Academy) that the group raised at its “Business for Education Gala.” Each school received $11,000, and shown here at a luncheon at Barreca’s are Jerome Helmstetter, principal of Haynes; event chair Michele Sallinger; Helen Blanke, principal of Metairie Grammar; and Joe Moscona, principal of Ella Dolhonde.

This couple were just two of the 3,000 who showed up on Jan. 10 to celebrate Galatoire’s 100th anniversary at a block party in front of the restaurant. Though we don’t know if they stood in line (the first person in line waited for 7 1/2 hours), we can probably assume that they did sample the 1,500 pounds of shrimp remoulade that was served!

Bob and Karen Merrick are with Gary and Martha Solomon at the Alexis de Tocqueville Society award reception, held Jan. 27 at the Solomon home. Bob Merrick was bestowed with the award, which is United Way’s highest volunteer honor, given to an individual or family who has exhibited exemplary volunteer leadership and service in the Greater New Orleans area.

John and Carol Roberts were among those who attended the Alexis de Tocqueville Society award reception.

On a visit to Las Vegas, New Orleanian Leslie Snadowsky (center) sat down and visited with the cast of “The Sopranos.”

Kenny Rubenstein, Gail Gaudry, Carly Cady and Jerralda Drummer are at the unveiling at Rubensteins of the “Go Red For Women” oversized red dress, which was unveiled to kickoff American Heart Month (February) and “New Orleans Goes Red” activities.

Emery Van Hook, Lois Sutton and Joe Sutton are at a French Quarter Business Association reception, where Lois Sutton was given the association’s Fleur de Lis Award, which is presented to a person for their extraordinary dedication to the French Quarter. The Ambassador Award, given to those who also make the French Quarter a special place, was presented to Bernard Ainsworth, Kyle Armstrong, Ronnie Bugs Jr., Ramon Forest, Robert Parker and Clyde Smith.

Elizabeth Valldejuli, Joe Cahn and Sal Sunseri enjoyed the French Quarter Business Association reception at the Royal Sonesta Hotel, where they sampled food and previewed some of the exhibits from the soon-to-open Audubon Insectarium.

Digital Sponsors

Become a MyNewOrleans.com sponsor ...

Give the gift of a subscription ... exclusive 50% off

Limited time offer. New subscribers only.

Sign up for our FREE

New Orleans Magazine email newsletter

Get the the best in New Orleans dining, shopping, events and more delivered to your inbox.