OBONO Director Megan Holt with Honorees Joe DeSalvo and Rosemary James


A celebratory atmosphere welcomed approximately 200 patrons to “Faulker for All,” which served as a surprise tribute to the contributions of Rosemary James and Joe DeSalvo for their tireless contributions to improving literacy in New Orleans. Honored for “A Generation of Heavy Lifting for Literary New Orleans,” James and DeSalvo founded the Faulkner Society 27 years ago and Words & Music, A Literary Feast in New Orleans 20 years ago.

Gold medal and A Legand In His/Her Own Time winners received their prizes at a cocktail reception preceding the gala.

Gold medal winners were: Timothy Jay Smith, Novel; Dave Barnette, Narrative Non-fiction Book; Martha Moffett, Novella; Andrew Comenelli, Short Story; Sean W. Murphy, Novel-in-Progress; Megan Baxter, Essay; Stacey Balkun, Poetry; Abigail Lyman, High School Short Story.

ALIHOT winners were: Patty Friedmann, Fiction; Tim Gautreaux, Fiction; Adam Johnson, Fiction; Stewart O’Nan, Fiction; Resa Aslan, Non-Fiction; and Walter Isaacson, Non-Fiction.

During the tributes, Megan Holt surprised Rosemary James and Joe DeSalvo with the news that One Book One New Orleans will establish the James-DeSalvo award, given each year at Words & Music, to someone who has dedicated their time and energy to making New Orleans a more literate city. The inaugural James-DeSalvo award went, of course, to Rosemary and Joe for their work with the BIG READ program.
Anne Simms-Pincus served as Event Chair, and Roy Blount Jr. was the Toastmaster.

Hotel Monteleone provided catering and beverages. Entertainment included Fruta Brutal, led by Martin Better, at the cocktail reception, and a tribute to Fats Domino by Craig Adams at the gala. Additionally, Gerald McRaney attended and performed a part from Faulkner’s first novel, Soldiers’ Pay.


Event at a Glance

What: “Faulkner for All, A Surprise Tribute to Rosemary James and Joe DeSalvo,” benefiting Faulkner Society
When: Saturday, December 9, 2017
Where: Hotel Monteleone