The 31st annual “Crimestoppers Awards Luncheon” honored those who have made a difference in public safety and who have supported Crimestoppers in its mission. Several hundred law enforcement officers were in attendance, including chiefs and sheriffs of several parishes.

NOPD Superindentent Michael Harrison delivered the invocation, followed by keynote speaker, FBI Special Agent Jeffrey S. Sallet, who spoke on terrorism. Darlene Cusanza, President and CEO of Crimestoppers, gave the annual Crimestoppers report.

The award winners were as follows: The James J. Coleman Sr. Corp. Partner Award recognizing philanthropic work in the community was presented to Postlethwaite & Netterville, APAC. The Law Enforcement Award of Excellence was presented to the Louisiana State Police, accepted by Col. Michael D. Edmonson. The Crimestoppers Fallen Hero Award was presented to James Arthur Bennett, Jr.  E.O.W. 5/24/15, HANO police; it was accepted by his mother and sister. The JPSO Award of Excellence – Sheriff Newell Normand was awarded to JPSO Sgt. Gary Barteet. The NOPD Award of Excellence – Supt. Michael Harrison was presented to NOPD Detective James Kish. The Crimstoppers Chairman’s Award was presented to Mr. Melvin Pechon Sr. And The Sherrif Harry Lee Criminal Justice Award was awarded to Genny May.

Event Chairs were Gregory Rusovich, Michael Hecht and Dickie Brennan. Sheriff Newell Normand served as emcee. The luncheon welcomed 700 attendees, including more than 45 high school students who are members of the Crimestoppers Teen Ambassadors Against Crime Leadership Program with their school representatives. The event raised more than $230,000 to support the programs of Crimestoppers.


What: 31st annual “Crimestoppers Awards Luncheon,” benefiting Crimestoppers GNO
When: Tuesday, January 19
Where: Hilton New Orleans Riverside