Community & Justice For All

Politicians, local celebrities, philanthropists and previous Weiss Award winners made up the 325 guests on the evening of December 10 at the Hyatt Regency Hotel to celebrate the 56th annual “Weiss Awards” and the 2013 honorees.

 Chaired by Jose S. Suquet, the black-tie optional affair celebrated the achievements of 2013 honorees Carol G. Asher, George J. Fowler, John D. Georges, Steve Gleason, Barbara Crain Major, James Meza Jr., Ed.D., Alvin L. Richard Jr., William Henry Shane Jr., Citizens for 1 Greater New Orleans and Women of the Storm for their outstanding efforts in advocacy for a better community.

The Hyatt Regency Hotel provided edibles and libations while drummers from NSJ Cultural announced guests’ entrance into the ballroom after the reception. DJ Matfey spun the tables all evening while David Jones and Jordan Bridges emceed, with help from event committee co-chairs Cristi Fowler Chauvin and Mullady Voelker.

All proceeds of the evening went to provide funds for the New Orleans Council for Community and Justice program development and local organizations such as Anytown Institute, The Great Health Race and The Youth Renewal Initiative.  The evening was produced in conjunction with Doubleit Media and the New Orleans Council for Community and Justice.


What:  56th annual “Weiss Awards,” benefiting the New Orleans Council for Community and Justice
When:  December 10, 2013
Where: Hyatt Regency Hotel

Community & Justice For All

Women of the Storm honorees Carmen Duncan, Nancy Marsiglia, Peggy Laborde, Anne Milling and Naydja Bynum

Community & Justice For All

Event chair and emcee Jose and Ileana Suquet

Digital Sponsors

Become a sponsor ...

Sign up for our FREE

New Orleans Magazine email newsletter

Get the the best in New Orleans dining, shopping, events and more delivered to your inbox.