Established in 1984, the “Business Hall of Fame” honors local businessmen and women who have embraced the spirit of entrepreneurship in our community and raises funds for Junior Achievement of Greater New Orleans, Inc., the largest partnership linking the private sector with education. The annual event took place at the Roosevelt Hotel on June 4. Honorees must have a record of outstanding entrepreneurial achievements, must be recognized by their organizations or professions to have made a very significant contribution to the success of the organization of profession, must adhere to high moral and ethical principles and must serve as a role model for others.

Those honored at this year’s “Business Hall of Fame” include Klara B. Cvitanovich, Owner of Drago’s Seafood Restaurant; Preston J. Edwards Sr., President & CEO, IMDiversity, Inc.; Dr. John B. Elstrott Jr., Chairman of the Board, Whole Foods Market & Emeritus Executive Director of the Levy-Rosenblum Institute for Entrepreneurship, Tulane University A.B. Freeman School of Business; Paul H. Flower, President & CEO, Woodward Design+Build; and Carol A. Solomon, CEO, Peoples Health. The honor of the Lifetime Achievement Award was presented to Dr. Scott S. Cowen, former president of Tulane University, for his fearless leadership and outstanding contributions to New Orleans.

Junior Achievement of Greater New Orleans reaches students in 12 parishes in Southeast Louisiana including Jefferson, Lafourche, Orleans, Plaquemines, St. Bernard, St. Charles, St. John, St. Mary, St. Tammany, Tangipahoa, Terrebonne and Washington. The organization reached more than 25,288 students in the 2012-’13 school year, and is dedicated to inspiring and preparing young people to successfully participate in our economy through workforce development, entrepreneurship and financial literacy.


What:  “Business Hall of Fame,” benefiting Junior Achievement of Greater New Orleans, Inc.
When:  Wednesday, June 4
Where:  Roosevelt Hotel