Event Co-Chairs Jessica Schulman and Cherie Moore


The theme of this year’s “Sugarplum Ball” was a “Grecian Gala,” presented by the Lemoine Company, which welcomed guests through an entrance of Grecian ruins and columns, emerging into an ethereal world of white with gold accents.

The VIP tent was designed by Décor Chairs Alecia Holinga, Florie Claire Snyder and Kristen Stewart to be a comfortable, yet formal lounge setting with a champagne wall and entertainment by Harry Hardin’s three-piece jazz band. VIP food was provided by Brennan’s and Ralph’s on the Park.

Forty-six New Orleans restaurants set up along the bayou, including Galatoire’s, Cavan, Pascal’s Manale, Byblos, Taceaux Laceaux, Clancy’s, Carrollton Market, Vincent’s Italian Cuisine and Drago’s. Patti Constantin Designs in Catering created a bread, cheese, meat and olive oil spread in the raffle room, where a pearl, diamond and sapphire bracelet donated by Valobra Jewelry was also on display.

The ballroom, draped entirely in white, revolved around golden statues of Greek deities holding signs with high-level sponsors, which served as photo opportunities. The Lemoine Wing continued down a candlelit walkway, ending at the Specialty Cocktail bar, where guests could sip the Nectar of the Gods cocktail. The dance floor was on fire with the tunes from The Boogie Men.

As the highest grossing “Sugarplum” to date, the proceeds this year are going toward the purchase of a robotic arm (ROSA) that performs minimally-invasive brain surgery on children. The event honored Marriott International for its ongoing support of Children’s Hospital through the Miracle Network – a relationship that has continued since 1987.

Guests included Event Chairs Jessica Schulman and Cherie Moore, accompanied by husbands Jordan Schulman and Ryan Moore; hospital CEO John and Marye Nickens; hospital Board Chair Elwood Cahill; Candace and Will Lemoine; Ryan and Lauren Haydel; Lt. Gov. Billy Nungesser; Ashley and Ben Gootee; Denise Buford; Tommy Centanni; David Roussel; Melanie Loomis; Ainsy and Donald Wood; Ann Heslin; Prissy and Ron Emonet; Tommy and Brandi Gennusa; Aundrea and Scott Daly; Stacy and James Guest; Lisa and Charles J. Ballay II; and Sharon Drucker.


Event at a Glance

What: “Sugarplum Ball – Grecian Gala 2018,” benefiting Children’s Hospital
When: Saturday, March 3
Where: Hellenic Cultural Center


Grecian Greatness

Ann Heslin, Cherie Albro and Jamie Cangelosi


Grecian Greatness

Jim Oliver, Robert Bray, Frank Romano and Joe Blanchek


Grecian Greatness

Karey Haslauer, Lisa Ballay and Sharon Lo Drucker


Grecian Greatness

Brent and Denise Buford


Grecian Greatness

David Haydel Jr., Ryan Haydel and David Haydel Sr.