Healthy Acadiana

Medical innovations, health trends, tips and annual hospital listing
Health 01

Acadiana is filled with history, culture and places that exude small-town charm, but the region is also full of talented physicians employing cutting-edge technology in state-of-the-art hospital facilities. Whether you’re suffering from orthopedic problems, heart disease, cancer or any other ailment, Acadiana’s doctors and hospitals are at the forefront of medical care.

Local doctors are using the newest technology to do things like kee replacement surgery that is so precise, patients are able to leave the hospital the next day, are walking without assitance within a month and resuming normal activities within three to four months.

New techniques and innovation are also available to treat patients with ailments like critical limb ischemia (a severe blockage of the arteries in the lower extremities), offering an alternative to limb removal. Wound care innovations and COVID-19 treatments are also all being created and tested right here in the region, but local doctors and researchers.

Patients never want to go to the hospital. No one visits the doctor for fun. There will always be a level of anxiety and apprehension involved. But with all of the gifted physicians in Acadiana using the latest in surgical techniques and medical technology, the outlook is much brighter even for patients facing life’s most serious health problems.

Now more than ever, patients can walk into hospitals with a feeling of hope for the future.


Lafayette Bone & Joint Clinic | Louisiana Cardiovascular & Limb Salvage Center


Acadia Parish

Acadia General. 1305 Crowley Rayne Highway, Crowley. alh.org. 337-783-3222

Allen Parish

Allen Parish Hospital. 108 Sixth Ave., Kinder. allenparishhospital.com. 337-738-2527

Oakdale Community Hospital. 130 N. Hospital Drive, Oakdale. facebook.com/oakdalecommunityhospital. 318-335-3700

Ascension Parish

Our Lady of the Lake Ascension. (formerly St. Elizabeth Hospital). 1125 W. Hwy., 30, Gonzales. ololrmc.com/about-us/our-lady-of-the-lake-ascension. 225-647-5000

Assumption Parish

Assumption Community Hospital. 135 Highway 402, Napoleonville. ololrmc.com/location/assumption-community-hospital. 985-369-3600

Christus St. Patrick Hospital. 524 Dr. Michael DeBakey Drive, Lake Charles. christusstpatrick.org. 337-436-2511

Lake Charles Memorial Hospital. 1701 Oak Park Blvd., Lake Charles. lcmh.com. 337-494-3000

West Calcasieu Cameron Hospital. 701 Cypress St., Sulphur. wcch.com. 337-527-7034

Evangeline Parish

Mercy Regional Medical Center. 800 E. Main St., Ville Platte. mercyregional-
medicalcenter.com. 337-363-5684

Savoy Medical Center. 801 Poinciana Ave., Mamou. savoymedical.com. 337-468-5261

Iberia Parish

Iberia Medical Center. 2315 E. Main St., New Iberia. iberiamedicalcenter.com. 337-364-0441

Jennings American Legion Hospital. 1634 Elton Road, Jennings. jalh.com. 337-616-7000

St. James Parish

St. James Parish Hospital. 1645 Lutcher Ave., Lutcher. sjph.org. 225-869-5512

St. John the Baptist Parish

Ochsner Health Center – River Parishes. 502 Rue de Santé, LaPlace. ochsner.org/locations/ochsner-health-center-river-parishes. 985-652-3500

Lafayette Parish

Our Lady of Lourdes Heart Hospital. 1105 Kaliste Saloom Road,. Lafayette. lourdesrmc.com/-
services/heart-care. 337-470-1000

Lafayette General Medical Center. 1214 Coolidge St., Lafayette. lafayettegeneral.com-
/location/lafayette-
general-surgical-hospital. 337-289-7991

Lafayette General Surgical Hospital. 1000 W. Pinhook Road, Lafayette. lafayettegeneral.com/location/lafayette-general-surgical-hospital. 337-289-8095

Lafayette Surgical Specialty Hospital. 1101 Kaliste Saloom Road, Lafayette. lafayettesurgical.com. 337-769-4100

Our Lady of Lourdes Regional Medical Center. 4801 Ambassador Caffery Parkway, Lafayette. lourdesrmc.com. 337-470-2000

Park Place Surgical Hospital. 4811 Ambassador Caffery Parkway, Lafayette. parkplacesurgery.com. 337-237-8119

Lafayette General Orthopaedic Hospital. 2810 Ambassador Caffery Parkway, Lafayette. lafayettegeneral.com/location/lafayette-general-orthopaedic-hospital. 337-981 -2949

University Hospital. 2390 W. Congress St., Lafayette. lafayettegeneral.com/location/university-hospital-
clinics. 337-261-6000

Our Lady of Lourdes Women’s & Children’s Hospital. 4600 Ambassador Caffery Parkway, Lafayette. lourdesrmc.com/location/our-lady-of-lourdes-womens-childrens-hospital. 337-470-5500

Lafourche Parish

Lady of the Sea General Hospital. 200 W. 134th Place, Cut Off. losgh.org. 985-632-6401

Ochsner St. Anne Hospital. 4608 Highway 1, Raceland. ochsner.org/locations/ochsner-st-anne. 985-537-6841

Thibodaux Regional Medical Center. 602 N. Acadia Road, Thibodaux. thibodaux.com. 985-447-5500

St. Charles Parish

St. Charles Parish Hospital. 1057 Paul Maillard Road, Luling. ochsner.org/locations/st-charles-parish-hospital. 985-785-6242

St. Landry Parish

Opelousas General Health System. 539 E. Prudhomme St., Opelousas. opelousasgeneral.com. 337-948-3011

St. Martin Parish

St. Martin Hospital. 210 Champagne Blvd., Breaux Bridge. lafayettegeneral.com/location/st-martin-hospital. 337-332-2178

St. Mary Parish

Franklin Foundation Hospital. 1097 Northwest Blvd., Franklin. franklinfoundation.org. 337-828-0760

Ochsner St. Mary. 1125 Marguerite St., Morgan City. ochsner.org/locations-
/ochsner-st-mary. 985-384-2200

Terrebonne Parish

Physicians Medical Center. 218 Corporate Drive, Houma. physicianshouma.com. 985- 853-1390

Terrebonne General Medical Center. 8166 Main St., Houma. tgmc.com. 985-873-4141

Vermilion Parish

Abbeville General Hospital. 118 N. Hospital Drive, Abbeville. abbgen.net. 337-893-5466

Abrom Kaplan Memorial Hospital. 1310 W. 7th St., Kaplan. lafayettegeneral.com/our_facilities/main_facilities/abrom_kaplan_memorial_hospital. 337-643-8300


 

Categories: Health and Fitness