No products in the cart.

In Support of the Arts

Patrons of the arts assembled in support of the Arts Council of New Orleans for the organization’s 35th annual “Community Arts Award Luncheon” at the Roosevelt New Orleans on September 20. The celebration commenced with presentations given by event chair Beverly Matheney and the Arts Council board.

This year’s luncheon not only celebrated members of the community who have gone above and beyond for support the arts, it also commemorated its own anniversary with the unveiling of the new “Arts 16” premier campaign, which emphasizes new and continued support of the council.

Recipients of awards included Moon Landrieu and Thomas Lemann, who were presented with the highly selective Chairman’s Award. Additionally, educator Luis Q. Barroso; musician Dave Bartholomew; restaurateur JoAnn Clevenger; writer and filmmaker Lolis Eric Elie; arts educator Freddi Williams Evans; architect and educator Milton G. Scheuermann; and organizational recipient Louisiana Cultural Economy Foundation were each honored with a Community Arts Award. Each honoree was presented with a customized work of art as a token of gratitude on behalf of the council.

While dining, guests viewed a short film compilation of interviews conducted with award recipients and a concluding conversation with the Chairman’s Award recipients.

The Arts Council of New Orleans is one of nine regional agencies representing Louisiana that administer municipal arts grants and the Percent For Art program on behalf of New Orleans.

Digital Sponsors

Become a MyNewOrleans.com sponsor ...

Sign up for our FREE

New Orleans Magazine email newsletter

Get the the best in New Orleans dining, shopping, events and more delivered to your inbox.