The Judah Touro Society Award is given annually to a community member who has made a significant contribution to the welfare of Touro Infirmary. This year, the award was given to Fr. Doug Brougher, who has served as the Touro chaplain for more than 35 years. Fr. Doug’s dedication to Touro and its patients is reflected in his kind spirit and genuine care for all.

The event included past Judah Touro Award Honoree, Joseph Friend, and an invocation by Fr. Doug Doussan, as well as remarks by Touro Hospital CEO Manuel Linares and Touro Infirmary Foundation Board Chair Dr. Meredith Maxwell. A special video with past honorees, Touro employees, patients and special guests, such as Archbishop Aymond, honored the 2021 Award recipient.

The Audubon Tea Room was washed in Touro Pink, representing the fundraising initiative of the event, which was to support Touro’s new Breast Care Center. The Tea Room also provided catering for the event. Decor and floral centerpieces by Harkins the Florist filled the room.

New Orleans Classical & Jazz with Harry Hardin provided musical entertainment for the 125 attendees.

Follow the Touro on Facebook @Touro and Instagram @TouroInfirmary

Event At A Glance

What: Judah Touro Society Award Reception benefiting Touro Infirmary Foundation

When: Thursday, November 11, 2021

Where: Audubon Tea Room

P4 001

Dr. Charles C. and Lynn Smith, Clay Smith, Katy Mallios

P4 006

 Pam Friedler, Dr. Eduardo Rodriguez

P4 005

Dr. Jack and Birdie Jacob, Lis and Hugo Kahn 

P4 004

Dr. Harris Hyman, Margaret Epstein, Dr. Sal Caputto

P4 003

 Dr. Gary Glynn, Fr. Doug Brougher, Mary Glynn, Dr. Tom Oelsner 

P4 002

 Dr. Knight Worley, Dr. Meredith Maxwell, Manny Linares