Lessons in Leadership

Celebrating the 31st annual “Role Model Awards Gala,” the Young Leadership Council hosted honored a selected class of outstanding New Orleanians who serve as Role Models by actively contributing to the betterment of the region.

The 2017 Role Model Award Recipients were: Joseph Pierre “Big Chief Monk” Boudreaux; Amy Boyle Collins; Gabriel A. Feldman; Dr. L’Issa L. Gates; Bill Hammack; Jeffrey P. Hebert; Raymond “Ray” Jeandron Jr., CPA; Kay Kerrigan; Andrew “Andy” Kopplin; Bivian “Sonny” Lee III; Carol G. McCall; Leann Opotowsky Moses, Esq.; Alyson M. Mount, CPA; Todd P. Murphy; Terri B. North; Wesley J. Palmisano; Greg Reggio; Lee C. Reid, Esq.; Petrice Sams-Abiodun Ph.D.; Salvador A. Scaccia Pharm.D.; and Derrick Tabb.

Board President Jermaine Smith, Executive Director Stephanie Powell and Gala Co-Chair Caleb S. Roberts addressed the gala. Carolyn S. Buckley also served as Gala Co-Chair, and Mark Romig served as emcee.

1718 Catering provided a three-course menu. Following dinner, band Phat Hat provided musical entertainment.

More than 440 people were in attendance at the gala, which featured a silent auction with package prizes ranging from health and lifestyle gift cards and fitness memberships, a gentleman’s package with custom suits, a New Orleans sports package with autographed Pelicans and Saints gear and game tickets, limited edition artwork and a French Quarter culinary staycation.

Mystery Boxes were also available for purchase for those willing to take the leap.



Event at a Glance

What: 31st annual “Role Model Awards Gala,” benefiting the Young Leadership Council
When: Saturday, September 16
Where: Hyatt Regency New Orleans



Digital Sponsors

Become a MyNewOrleans.com sponsor ...

Sign up for our FREE

New Orleans Magazine email newsletter

Get the the best in New Orleans dining, shopping, events and more delivered to your inbox.