Over 600 people attended the Young Leadership Council’s “Role Model Awards Gala” on Saturday, August 9, at the Hyatt Regency New Orleans. The 2014 YLC Role Models were nominated as distinguished local individuals who actively contribute to the betterment of the Greater New Orleans region and serve as role models to the community.

The 2014 YLC Role Models include: Iftikhar Ahmad, Justin T. Augustine III, Therese M. Badon, Arnold B. Baker, Bryan Batt, David Blossman, Matt Candler, Michelle D. Craig, Jeffrey Goldring, Stephanie Haynes, Sr. Marjorie Hebert MSC, James M. LeBlanc, Charles E. Leche, Lan Chi Luu Ph.D., Ed Marshall, R.M. “Iray” Nabatoff, Lavonzell Nicholson, Darryl Reginelli, Melissa Sawyer, Dana Shepard, Michael O. Smith, Monica R. Sylvain Ph.D., Keith Twitchell, Thomas P. Westervelt and Ana Zorilla. McKensie Kirchner served as this year’s Gala Chair.

An exclusive black-tie Patron Party preceded the main event. Reverend Gregory M. Aymond, Archbishop of New Orleans, gave the invocation, and Mark Romig served as the Master of Ceremonies. The 2014 Role Model class was formally presented at the gala with a slideshow and given inscribed awards.
Louisiana Spice provided the entertainment, and Funtastic Fotos hosted a photo booth. Table centerpieces were provided by Mardi Gras Productions and consisted of white hydrangeas and purple roses with mercury glass vases. A silent auction featured dinners at more than 35 of New Orleans’ finest restaurants, including Commander’s Palace, Dickie Brennan’s Palace Café and Emeril’s Restaurants. 
rebuilding research here in New Orleans at such institutions as Louisiana State, Ochsner and Tulane universities to promote a heart-healthy Louisiana.


What: “28th Role Model Awards Gala,” benefiting the Young Leadership Council
When:   Saturday, August 9
Where:  Empire Ballroom at Hyatt Regency New Orleans