Modeling Excellence

The Youth Leadership Council (YLC) honored 25 members of its 2012 Role Model Class at its 26th annual “Role Model Awards Gala.” The event took place on Saturday, August 11 at the Hyatt Regency New Orleans hotel. Every year, the YLC honors individuals who have distinguished themselves in the community and have proved to be exceptional examples of the YLC.

Master of ceremonies Chris Trew welcomed guests, and YLC Executive Director Amy Boyle Collins introduced the 2012 Role Model video and awards presentation. Chair Askala Harris made the opening remarks, Bishop Morris K. Thompson Jr. provided the invocation and entertainment for the evening was provided by the Bucktown Allstars. Kathy R. Herbert, YLC president 2004, and John F. Landrum, YLC president from 1989-’90, were named as honorary chairs; past-presidents Alyssa Wenck and Joseph L. Giarrusso presented the awards.

Members of the 2012 Role Model Class include: Gerard W. Barousse Jr., Janet Bean, Dwayne Bernal, Michael Brown, Chimene Grant Connor, Mark Costanzo, Karen B. DeSalvo M.D., Paul H. Flower, Elizabeth “Shane” French M.D., Tara Hernandez, Thomas Kitchen, Martha M. Landrum, Kathryn LeBlanc, Mike McKenzie, Darren Mire, Elizabeth “Betsy” Nalty, Cydi Nquyen, John Payne, Sandy Rosenthal, Suzanne Rusovich, John W. Sibal, Ronnie L. Slone, Sarah Newell Usdin, Paul Valteau and Matt Wisdom.

Event at a Glance
What:  “2012 Role Model Awards Gala,” benefiting The Youth Leadership Council
When: Saturday, August 11
Where: The Hyatt Regency New Orleans Hotel

Digital Sponsors

Become a sponsor ...

Give the gift of a subscription ... exclusive 50% off

Limited time offer. New subscribers only.

Sign up for our FREE

New Orleans Magazine email newsletter

Get the the best in New Orleans dining, shopping, events and more delivered to your inbox.