The 30th annual “Crimestoppers Awards Luncheon” recognizes individuals and organizations that work to make a difference in public safety. The luncheon raised over $200,000 for Crimestoppers programs, including the hotline and youth and community education programs.

Co-Chairs were Suzanne Mestayer, Karl E. Hoefer and Lynes R. “Poco” Sloss. JPSO Sheriff Newell Normand served as event emcee. Crimestoppers President and CEO Darlene Cusanza provided the annual business report highlighting the approximately 500 cases solved via tips and the many youth programs and community education opportunities and partnerships.

NOPD Superintendent Michael Harrison provided the invocation and presented a NOPD Crimestoppers Award of Distinguished Service to NOPD Homicide Detective Ryan Vaught. Sheriff Normand also presented an award of Distinguished Service to JPSO Lt. Heather A. Sylve and JPSO Det. Brett M. Le Blanc. Other award recipients include Laitram, L.L.C., which was awarded the James J. Coleman Sr. Corporate Partner Award; the Sheriff Harry Lee Criminal Justice Award to Sheriff Willy J. Martin Jr., the George Loker Community Service Award to Mr. John A. Batt Jr. and the Crimestoppers Media Award to WWL-TV’s Creative Team led by Kel Remekes and Josh Meza.

A Distinguished Law Enforcement Award was also presented to the “Operation Round Table” team consisting of Homeland Security Investigations, U.S. Postal Inspection Service and the U.S. Attorney’s Office for the Eastern District. The final “Chairman’s Award of Recognition” was presented to Mike Meguerditchian.

The 2015 class of Crimestoppers Teen Ambassadors and their school principals were also in attendance. A highlight of the event was the introduction of 10-year-old Tyler, Texas resident Savannah Solis who discussed her thank you letter writing campaign to law enforcement and Crimestoppers accepting the “Savannah Challenge.” 


What: 30th annual “Crimestoppers Awards Luncheon,” benefiting Crimestoppers GNO
When: March 26
Where: Hilton New Orleans Riverside