With the prestigious Torch of Liberty award that has been given to honorable contributors for over 50 years, the “A. I. Botnick Torch of Liberty Award Dinner" pays tribute to two individuals who have impacted our community and furthered the mission of the ADL, and to raise awareness and celebrate the work of the ADL fighting bigotry and discrimination: Walter Isaacson and Carroll Suggs.

Furthermore, the Barney Mintz Leadership Awardees were Peter Sperling and Aaron Ahlquist. Phyllis Taylor, Odom Heebe, Tim Francis and Allan Bissinger served as Dinner Chairs.

Prior to the dinner, there was a special VIP toast in the Rodrigue Room for Honorees, Chairs and the Event Committee. There was also a large Patron Party before the event for all attendees with an open bar. Guests were given ADL No Place for Hate® pins, and encouraged to wear one and give one to someone else to help spread the message of inclusivity.

Dinner was provided by the Sheraton Hotel, and Republic National Distributing Company and Glazer’s provided beverages. Flowers were beautifully arranged by Vivian Cahn and Carol Stone.

This year’s event highlighted ADL’s important work with law enforcement, and announced a huge new gift and partnership to the ADL to support law enforcement trainings and resources. The Special Agent-in-Charge of the FBI New Orleans, Jeff Sallet, spoke on ADL’s close relationship with law enforcement and excellent training workshops. John Charles, Educator at De La Salle High School, and Darryl Coulon, ADL Student Leader at Xavier University, also delivered remarks.


What: “A. I. Botnick Torch of Liberty Award Dinner,” benefiting Anti-Defamation League
When: Tuesday, December 6, 2016
Where: Sheraton Hotel