North of the Lake

Peter and Pam Egan and Lisa and Rob Barnett

The Junior League of Greater Covington, in conjunction with the Northshore Kiwanis, St. Tammany Parish, Franco’s Athletic Club and WGSO 990 AM, presented “A Celebration of Pure Imagination” on April 27. The event to raised funds toward construction of the Children’s Museum of St. Tammany, a joint initiative of the JLGC and St. Tammany Parish.

Guests embodied the essence of casual elegance entering the candy-themed bash at the Castine Center. Willy Wonka lent a few of his rotund, orange friends to greet revelers entering the soiree as well as enough candy to fill a factory!

Outside the candy forest, guests enjoyed food and drink from over 40 local
purveyors. Guests also bid on live and silent auction items as well as tickets for a “winner’s choice” car raffle (vehicle donated by the Paretti family and won by the Francos). A special “Diamond Dig” activity gave partygoers the chance to uncover one of more than 50 gemstones, donated by Craig Babylon, from a selection of rhinestones. 

The Fontainebleau High School Jazz Ensemble led the evening’s entertainment, followed by popular local band, Four Unplugged. Bernie Cyrus and Rich Mauti joined the team as emcees.

An event of such scale couldn’t, of course, succeed without a dedicated team; Tony Le Mon, appointed by Kevin Davis, chaired the fundraiser.

Committee chairs for the event included Phyllis Distefano, Mary Ann Haase, Donna Addison, Joanne Champagne, Darlene Guercia, Mary Leigh Wolfe, Kathy Pritchett, Heidi McElroy, Susan LeMon, Becky Parks, Tommy Roe, Donald Villere, Tara Dragon, Rebecca Dougherty, Leslie Martin, Susan Meyers, Lori Sperier, Sheri Lemmond, Suzanne Freret, Meghan Garcia, Michelle Prather, Sandra Chapman, Jeanne Betbeze, Jennifer Thibodeaux, Ann Habisreitinger Barré and Shannon Aparicio.

Don Petitpain, Willie Paretti, chair Tony and committee chair Susan LeMon and Ron and Sandy Franco

Bernie Cyrus, Harry Finch and Rich Mauti

Kiernan Weldon, committee chairs Sheri Lemmond and Ann Barré with Emile Barré

Tim Wolfe, committee chairs Mary Leigh Wolfe and Sandra Chapman with John Bevington

Samantha, Craig, Lynn and Emily Babylon

Maria and Kevin Davis