Passing the Torch

The Anti-Defamation League honored Phyllis Taylor and Dr. Gordon H. “Nick” Mueller with the Torch of Liberty Award for their civil rights activism to build a future in which every citizen shares in democracy and equality.

Dinner Chairs included Carroll Suggs and James C. Carter S.J. for Phyllis Taylor and Dr. Norman Francis and Susan Hess for Nick Mueller.

Dr. Allison Padilla-Goodman spoke on “Dreams and Action,” and an invocation was presented by Father James C. Carter and Rabbi Edward P. Cohn. Michael Botnick and Karen Sher delivered the Barney Mintz Leadership Award to Carol Stone and Ann Abbrecht. Furthermore, “I am Not a Stereotype” and video accompaniment was presented by Nancy B. Timm, ADL Regional Board Chair; Alyssa Tripps, Carver Prep Student and ADL leader; and Darryl Coulon, Xavier University student, TOPS scholar and ADL leader.

Prior to the main event, there was a special Toast Party for the honorees, event committee and major donors to toast the honorees and their commitment to the work of the ADL. Hyatt Regency catered the seated dinner and Republic National Distributing Company provided beverages.

Approximately 500 attended the event, which raised more than $250,000 for the Anti-Defamation League.


What: “A. I. Botnick Torch of Liberty Award Dinner benefiting Anti-Defamation League
When: Tuesday, December 1, 2015
Where: Anti-Defamation League Headquarters


Digital Sponsors

Become a sponsor ...

New Orleans Magazine FOOD CUBES!

Want to know what to eat while headed to the Festival Stage or sitting under the tree at the Gentilly Stage? Get the New Orleans Magazine "Food Cubes" sent directly to your email for FREE!

Unlock the New Orleans Magazine FOOD CUBES!

Cubes sent straight to your email!

Sign up for our FREE

New Orleans Magazine email newsletter

Get the the best in New Orleans dining, shopping, events and more delivered to your inbox.