Philanthropic Fun: Catholic Community


The Catholic Foundation hosted its annual dinner to bring the Catholic community together for an evening of fellowship, and to publicly thank and recognize those who have contributed to the success of the organization’s mission.

The evening began with a cocktail hour, which was followed by dinner and the program. At the dinner, Archbishop Gregory M. Aymond and the foundation presented the Saint John Paul II Award to Miles Gordon Stevens III. The award recognizes the stewardship exhibited by a person of high moral character and exemplary values who has rendered unselfish volunteer service to the institutions and programs of the Archdiocese of New Orleans. A humble recipient, Gordon simply said, “If you are very blessed, you need to give back.”

Reverend Timothy Hedrick, pastor of St. Catherine of Siena Parish, opened the evening with the invocation. The Archbishop Rummel High School Honor Guard led the group in the pledge of allegiance. Following the presentation of the honoree and award by the Archbishop, Reverend Joseph Doyle gave the benediction. Reverend Kyle V. Dave, pastor of Our Lady of Perpetual Help in Belle Chasse, closed the evening by leading a recessional of “Let There be Peace on Earth.”

The Hilton Riverside catered the three-course meal. A video detailing the importance of Catholic community premiered at the dinner, and featured commentary by students, nonprofit leaders, seminarians, pastors and more, like Catholic Foundation Board President Jamie Lassere; Catholic Foundation Board Member Ellen Lee; Fr. Rodney Bourg, Most Holy Trinity Catholic Church; Mary Jane and John Becker; Dr. Kenneth St. Charles, president of St. Augustine High School; and Sr. Marjorie Hebert, president and CEO, Catholic Charities Archdiocese of New Orleans.

The Annual Dinner Committee was Co-Chaired by Patricia T. “Patsy” Hotard, Anne Dardis and Cindy Nolan. 

Event at a Glance

What: "2018 Catholic Foundation Annual Dinner,” benefiting The Catholic Foundation
When: Thursday, October 11
Where: New Orleans Hilton Riverside

Philanthropic Fun: Catholic Community

Co-Chairs Cindy Nolan, Patsy Hotard and Anne Dardis

Philanthropic Fun: Catholic Community

Vice President Gus Kuntz, President Jamie Lassere and Past President Ralph Cox Jr.


Digital Sponsors

Become a sponsor ...

Sign up for our FREE

New Orleans Magazine email newsletter

Get the the best in New Orleans dining, shopping, events and more delivered to your inbox.