Philanthropic Fun: Celebrating a Changemaker

The National Council of Jewish Women honored Susan Hess as the 2018 recipient of the Hannah G. Solomon Award.
Event Chair & Board Member Kathy Shepard, Vice President Sarah Covert and President Barbara Kaplinsky


The National Council of Jewish Women proudly honored Susan Hess as the 2018 recipient of the coveted Hannah G. Solomon Award.

Susan Hess was selected for epitomizing the qualities of NCJW founder Hannah G. Solomon, and for acting as a catalyst for positive social change in the community. She helped establish and led several organizations including the Louisiana Nature and Science Center and the University of New Orleans Foundation. Hess has made impact through leadership within a wide variety of community organizations including the SPCA and New Orleans City Park, among others.

The award luncheon took place at the New Orleans Marriott, and featured an opening reception and lunch provided by the Marriott. Table centerpieces featured Halloween scenes, complete with scarecrows and hues of fall foliage.  Kathy Shepard served as Event Chair.

Event at a Glance

What: 2018 annual "Hannah G. Solomon Luncheon,” benefiting the National Council of Jewish Women
When: Monday, October 15
Where: New Orleans Marriott

Susan Kierr, Bill and Honoree Susan Hess and Vivian Cahn

Hospitality Chair Sue Singer and Board Members Loel Samuel and Judge Miriam Waltzer

Liz Yager and Mimi Schlesinger 

VP of Development Barbara Greenberg and Board Member Dana Shepard 

 Ina Davis, Marjorie Bissinger and June Leopold