No products in the cart.

Philanthropic Fun: Courageous Community

Crimestoppers GNO hosted its annual “Awards Luncheon” on March 22 to honor the community of civilians and law enforcement who defend and serve a safer New Orleans.

The St. Bernard Sheriff’s Office presented the nation’s colors and Pastor Tyrone Jefferson Jr. of Abundant Life Tabernacle Church performed the National Anthem. Pastor Brandon Boutin of Greater St. Stephens Full Gospel Church delivered the invocation and Jefferson Parish Sheriff Joe Lopinto served as Emcee.

Awards were presented to individuals whose commitment to the Crimestoppers cause has been outstanding: James J. Coleman Sr., Corporate Partner Award – Robert Merrick, Latter and Blum; Sheriff Harry Lee Crimestoppers Criminal Justice Award – Sheriff James Pohlmann, St. Bernard Parish; The George Loker Community Service Award – Dr. James Arey, Jefferson Parish Sheriff’s Office and Cecile Tebo, New Orleans Police Department; and the Law Enforcement Silent Hero Award – Deputy Christopher Haislup, JPSO; Deputy Justin Nail, St. Tammany Parish Sheriff’s Office; and Officer Christopher Abbott, NOPD.

The Crimestoppers Chairman’s Award was presented to Pamela Schafer, Crimestoppers Board Member. Crimestoppers also honored fallen Officer Jason Seals of the Slidell Police Department who lost his life on November 18, 2018, while on the job.

Justin Augustine III, Lacey Merrick Conway and Peter Wilson served as Co-Chairs.

Funds raised from the luncheon goes towards Crimestoppers Youth Programs, which include the safe school hotline, presentations made by staff members to schools in the metro area about crime prevention, internet safety, sexting and drug use prevention, and the Teen Ambassadors Against Crime Leadership program that helps high school students gain a better understanding of the criminal justice arena and the role that students can and do play in community safety.

Event at a Glance

What: 34th annual “Crimestoppers Annual Awards Luncheon,”
benefiting Crimestoppers GNO

When: Friday, March 22

Where: Hyatt Regency New Orleans

Philanthropic Fun: Courageous Community

Honorees James Arey, Cecile Tebo and Chris Abbott

Philanthropic Fun: Courageous Community

Honorees Justin Nail and Charlie Haislup


Digital Sponsors

Become a MyNewOrleans.com sponsor ...

Sign up for our FREE

New Orleans Magazine email newsletter

Get the the best in New Orleans dining, shopping, events and more delivered to your inbox.