Philanthropic Fun: Leading by Example
Co-Chair Margaux Krane with Role Models Lee Ledbetter and Susan Taylor

The hallways of The Fillmore were lined with nearly life-size portraits of the Role Models for the Young Leadership Council’s 33rd annual “Role Model Awards Gala,” creating a fun and memorable photo opportunity for family and friends of this year’s honorees.

The awards ceremony took place in the Music Hall, where the space was illuminated by candlelight. This year’s Role Models were: Danny Blanks, Jody Braunig, Frank Brigtsen, Andrea Chen, Greg Feirn, Becker Hall, Rene Louapre, Lee Ledbetter, Debbie Badeaux Maniglia, Judy Reese Morse, Dr. John Nicklow, Mayra Pineda, Nakita Angelle Shavers, Susan Taylor, Walter “Wolfman” Washington, Kevin Wilkins and Mike Woodward. Honorees each received a custom Faber Awards crescent statuette made from crystal glass.

After the awards ceremony, Flow Tribe performed with an hour and half-long set of their “backbone cracking” sound. Guests dined on prized selections prepared by Arnaud’s Restaurant, Pigeon Catering, Malonito, Drago’s, Queen Trini Lisa, Joel’s Catering, Torshi, Greek Girls, The Kolache Kitchen and 12 Seasons Catering.

The Patron Party was held in The Fillmore’s lobby and featured light jazz by the Byron Asher Trio. Special Guests enjoyed the signature cocktail of the evening, a Peychaud’s Spritzer, featuring champagne, Peychaud’s bitters and splash of club soda. Passed hors d’oeuvres from My House Social circulated the space. The Patron Party allowed an intimate atmosphere for the 2019 Role Model class to meet previous honorees, YLC Leadership both past and present and indispensable friends of YLC’s mission and young professional members.

The After Party, held in The Fillmore’s BG’s Lounge, featured music from DJ Westly and food by Magazine Pizza and Bud’s Broiler.

Margaux and Stew Krane served as Co-Chairs. Norman Robinson served as Master of Ceremonies. Presenting Sponsors were Goldring Family Foundation, Lynne Burkart, LCMC Health, Blue Cross and Blue Shield of Louisiana, Laitram and Intralox.

Event at a Glance

What: 33rd annual “Role Model Awards Gala,” benefiting Young Leadership Council
When: Saturday, September 14
Where: Fillmore New Orleans

Philanthropic Fun: Leading by Example
David T. Baker, Shelby Russ and Co-Chair Stew Krane


Philanthropic Fun: Leading by Example
Executive Director Stephanie Powell with Role Model Danny Blanks and Presenting Sponsor Lynne Burkart


Philanthropic Fun: Leading by Example
Role Models Rene Louapre and Becker Hall


Philanthropic Fun: Leading by Example
Board Member Jennifer J. Guenard, Role Models Mayra E. Pineda and Nakita Angelle Shavers and Board Member Stephen Sewell


Philanthropic Fun: Leading by Example
Role Model Mike Woodward with Board Member Danielle Martin