Joy Braun, Michael Botnik and Cathy Glaser

Edie and Paul Rosenblum

Lt. Gov. Mitch Landrieu, Sen. Mary Landrieu, Verna Landrieu, Madeleine Landrieu and Moon Landrieu

Naomi Orlansky and Larry Orlansky with Joyce and Sidney Pulitzer

Leann Moses and John Lovett

Bill Goldring with Karen and Leopold Sher

Since 1967, the Anti-Defamation League’s South Central Regional Board has been honoring leaders in the New Orleans community with the A.I. Botnick Torch of Liberty Award. This is bestowed on men and women who epitomize the ideals of the Anti-Defamation League, which includes combating anti-Semitism and all forms of prejudice and bigotry through advocacy, legislation and education. Joyce Pulitzer and Lt. Gov. Mitch Landrieu were the award winners, with Landrieu being the fourth family member, including his parents Verna and Moon, and sister Sen. Mary Landrieu, to receive it. The soirée—which also celebrated the ADL’s 91st anniversary—was Dec. 5 at the Wyndham Canal Place, with event co-chair Ruth Kullman introducing Pulitzer, and event co-chair Saundra Katz Levy introducing Landrieu. The event’s other co-chairs were Allan Katz and Larry Kullman. Another award was given that night—the Barney Mintz Leadership Award—which was presented to John Lovett and Alex Gershanik. Guests were also treated to a video presentation about the Torch of Liberty Award recipients from the past 35 years. •