Every year for the last 24 years, the Young Leadership Council has selected members of the community and honored them as role models for their exemplary service and outstanding accomplishments. This year, Role Models from all walks of life were selected – honorees included a variety of individuals who work in varying fields including education, business, television, politics, law, community activism and more.

The Role Models of 2010 were: Rhonda Aluise, John D. Becker, John Blancher, Phyllis Cassidy, Randall Feldman, Martin Gutierrez, Stephen W. Hales, Michael Hecht, Susan Read Johnson, James R. Kelly, Dennis Lauscha, James P. McNamara, Beverly R. Nichols, Kendall J. Petri, Wendell Pierce, Nolan Rollins, Timolynn Sams, Laverne Saulny, Sally Shushan, Helen Siegel, Robert C. Tannen & Jeanne Nathan, Cecile Watters Tebo, Lizette Terral, Gordon R. Wadge and Barbara Turner Windhorst.

These honorees were fêted on Saturday, August 21 at the Sheraton New Orleans Hotel. The evening’s festivities kicked off with a patron party, meet-and-greet and happy hour at 6 p.m.

The theme this year was “Our Time to Shine,” and co-chairs were Chrissy Sheets and LaToria Willis, who were joined by their husbands. Volunteer Chair Shon Cowan Baker handled the décor. Nearly 70 tables were filled for the dinner and awards ceremony. Archbishop Gregory Aymomd gave a moving Convocation, and Dawn Brown of Fox 8 weather fame was the master of ceremonies. Entertainment after dinner included a silent auction and a lively performance by Big Sam’s Funky Nation.

The YLC is a nonprofit, non-partisan civic organization created to develop leadership through community projects. All proceeds from the event fund the projects that are created, planned and executed by YLC member-volunteers.