Shared Values

The National Council of Jewish Women Greater New Orleans Section recognized Ana and Dr. Juan Gershanik with its highest honor, the 2016 Hannah G. Solomon Award. This award has been presented annually to community leaders who exemplify the qualities of Hannah G. Solomon, founder of NCJW. The Gershaniks were honored at the 50th annual award luncheon at the Westin New Orleans Canal Place Grand Ballroom on Monday, September 26.

Past honorees in attendance included Julie Schwam Harris, Ruth Kullman, Joan Berenson, Nancy Marsiglia, Carol Wise, Phyllis Taylor, Diana Lewis, Madalyn Schenk, Hugo Kahn, The Honorable Miriam Waltzer, Myra Soboloff, Julanne Isaacson, Norma Freiberg, Flo Schornstein, Margorie Bissinger, Carol Good and Sybil Morial. Each recipient of the award has brought about important community programs and services through their leadership in a volunteer capacity and been a catalyst for social change.

Susan Kierr serves as President of the NCJW Greater New Orleans Section and Event Chairman was Loel Samuel. Committee members were Barri Bronston, Leslie Fischman, Barbara Kaplinsky, Tricia Kirschman, Millie Davis Kohn, Jenny Nathan, Phyllis Nitzkin, Madalyn Schenk, Kathy Shepard, Sue Singer, Judy Steinberg and Carol Wise.

NCJW is a grassroots organization of volunteers and advocates who turn progressive ideals into action. Inspired by Jewish values, NCJW strives for social justice by improving the quality of life for women, children, and families and by safeguarding individual rights and freedoms.


What: “Hannah G. Solomon Award Luncheon,” benefiting the National Council of Jewish Women
When: Monday, September 26
Where: Westin Canal Place


Digital Sponsors

Become a sponsor ...

Sign up for our FREE

New Orleans Magazine email newsletter

Get the the best in New Orleans dining, shopping, events and more delivered to your inbox.