Each Wednesday, we tackle wedding etiquette. At times, it’s a reader question or one from a colleague, friend or family member and other times we’ll cover a popular issue. (Note: Questions may be edited for clarity and brevity.)

 

Question: I have a gluten sensitivity and want to do gluten-free food at my wedding. My fiance eats what I’m eating at home, then whatever he wants outside the house to make cooking and shopping easier. He likes everything we make that’s follows my dietary restrictions and supports a gluten-free reception. The caterer is fantastic and known for making delicious, diet-compliant cuisine in which no one misses the ‘missing’ ingredients. Do I have to offer non-gluten-free options? Do I have to announce that the food at my wedding reception will be gluten free?

Answer: As long as you are feeding your guests delicious food and drink, it’s not necessary to announce the lack of gluten in the offerings. It is however customary to ask guests if they have dietary restrictions and work with your caterer to provide alternate options. For example, a dish might be gluten-free, but made with meat that your vegetarian loved ones may not want to eat or if your nephew is allergic to peanuts, that should be left off of the menu.

 

Do you have a solution to share or a wedding etiquette question? Respond in the comments or email Melanie@MyNewOrleans.com.

 

 

Save the date for our January Bridal Show, Jan. 10 at the Hyatt Regency New Orleans. Click here for tickets and more information